Pattern Play

Ok so I’ve been contemplating as to when to show everyone these, because these might be one of my favorites from this year.In one of my classes this past quarter we had to do a project based on senses. I chose to connect sound and sight, which is perfect for me. I love music and I love visual art like patterns. One of my favorite things to do is design prints and patterns. Life can be serious enough so why not have a fun pattern on with fun colors?!

So music. This will sound cheesy but I don’t care: music sweeps me away to memories I’ve had, memories I want to have, and moments I don’t want to forget. There’s not a day that I don’t listen to music. Even if it’s a song that I’ve listened to 100 times (yes there’s a play-count on a song in my itunes that reads over 100-don’t judge). Music to me is such a great escape.
My musical taste ranges from almost every genre. I love listening to music while brainstorming different projects and they inspire me so much, and when I’m working on a project and feel stuck it’s just nice to take a break and listen.

On to patterns. Out of every design element or principle I’m most drawn to color and pattern. I love bright colors, not that I have anything against neutrals (I love mixing neutrals with brights) but bright colors are so fun!…and they make me happy which is always a plus!
I think recently I’ve been noticing how much I really love patterns, I always have been drawn to them-without realizing it- and I’ve always have loved creating them.I love how in the end it’s a pattern and it’s organized but the process can be however disorganized and free you want and can start however you want. It’s hard to explain but I really enjoy the whole process of making a pattern or print.

patternplaydisplayCOPYRIGHT_R.Carmen

So this project. My concept behind this project was pattern clashing- clashing different types of musics/patterns. I wanted to use 3 mellow type songs and 3 upbeat songs. 6 to me is a good number, and it’s even so I liked the idea of using that. I picked some of my favorite songs to inspire different patterns, then when displayed the patterns clash but they somehow go together. The format of my project was 6 5×5 gesso boards. I like the idea of traveling art, so these small pieces could be hung where the viewer is at the time whether it’s at a hotel or in their own room. there’s also a lot of freedom on how they can be viewed and displayed. The viewer can choose to hang a select number with the patterns mixed or the viewer can choose to line up the patterns by their “mood” and keep the 2 types of genre separated. Overall the options are limitless for them.

Here it is! So now for the sound and sight inspirations and explanation!

COPYRIGHT_R.Carmen

So this is obviously a mellow type song.
One of my all-time favorite bands is Coldplay and this pattern was inspired by one their songs : Sparks

You say, “Oh, sing one we know”,
But I promise you this,
I’ll always look out for you,
That’s what I’ll do.

This song Is really pretty yet mellow and it’s still complex so the pattern is layered and has the star-like sparks and glowing stars. I just love the song and I really ended up loving this pattern.

COPYRIGHT_R.Carmen

On to another pattern! This one is based one is inspired by one of my Favorite Artist Kimbra! She’s starting to become well known in the US and I’m so excited! she has such an awesome groove and fun in her music. This pattern was inspired by Kimbra’s Cameo Lover (click on the link because this music video might be one of my most favorite music videos!).

Cause everyday’s like talking in your sleep
Love is like a silhouette in dreams
Open up your heart, Open up your heart
Open up your heart and let me pull you out 

This song is serious so fun you can’t help but smile when you listen to the song and when you watch the video you practically giggle. The song makes me think of bright colors (which I love) and just a fun look and a fun pattern!

COPYRIGHT_R.Carmen

One way or the other you’ll find out I really love Coldplay. This pattern is based on Coldplay’s song 42

Those who are dead are not dead
They’re just living my head
And since I fell for that spell
I am living there as well

I love love love this song, I listen to this song a lot. When I work on projects I usually listen to Coldplay, it keeps me going without hyping out or putting me to sleep, it’s perfect. For the pattern I wanted it to have depth- obviously what goes on in our heads is deep and complex, yet it wanders aimlessly so I wanted to show some depth and space, with a smooth rhythm to it.
COPYRIGHT_R.Carmen
So I love Kimbra. She’s fun and upbeat. This pattern is inspired by Kimbra’s Two Way Street

We’re coming close to our fate
they’ll put a star beside our names
and I couldn’t care for the history
when I’ve got you in front of me
the cars could all collide
the shards of glass
 won’t catch my eye
cause you’re almost by my side
we’re counting down at the green light.

Fun colors fun pattern. This song makes me happy and so does this pattern!

COPYRIGHT_R.Carmen

In case you haven’t caught the trend all of my mellow patterns are inspired by Coldplay songs.
This pattern is inspired by Coldplay’s Fix You
And the tears come streaming down your face
When you lose something you can’t replace
When you love someone, but it goes to waste
Could it be worse?
Lights will guide you home
And ignite your bones

And I will try to fix you

Need I say anymore how much I love this song? I kept the pattern somewhat simple and let everything just flow and be easy like a simple path.

COPYRIGHT_R.Carmen
Ok, last but not least. Here’s the last pattern. One of my other favorite artists is Florence + The Machine. One of my favorite songs is Shake It Out.
I am done with my graceless heart
So tonight I’m gonna cut it out and then restart
Cause I like to keep my issues drawn
It’s always darkest before the dawn

…And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back
So shake him off

This song. I love it. It always brings me up. Bright eye popping colors on a white background with lots of rhythm and movement.

COPYRIGHT_R.Carmen

I made a small box with an envelope flap to store the patterns and make them travel friendly! it’s cute and had color, pattern, and a touch of pink!

So if you haven’t heard some of the songs or heard of some of these artists you are missing out. It’s always important to me to be inspired by other artist no matter the type of art they do because every person has a different way of creatively interpreting something.

I really hope you enjoy these as much as I do. If your interested in a print of any of the prints email me! These prints will be sure to brighten your day like they always do mine.

Live Brightly!

One thought on “Pattern Play

Leave a Reply

